Canadian Crash Prix

The 2008 Canadian Grand Prix was an incident filled race.Just 13 out of 20 drivers managed to finish the race.Robert Kubica and BMW won their first Grand Prix.Here’s what Robert Kubica managed to do last time he was in Canada-Last time around,he left the circuit on a stretcher,with broken legs.This time,he managed to leave with a trophy and the taste of Champagne in his mouth.Wondering what happened to Hamilton and Raikkonen?Read on..

This race also raised a question on the rule which says that the pit lane exit is to be closed during the first lap behind the Safety Car.This what Hamilton managed to do in the pits while driving within the pit lane speed limit of 100km/h-

One silly rule ruined the race for 2 top drivers.Hamilton has himself to blame but what about Raikkonen?I feel that this rule is silly and should be scrapped off at least for circuits like Montreal and Magny Cours which don’t have wide and long pit lanes.

Sayonara Super Aguri

Super Aguri,the F1 team which made its debut a couple of years ago has left the Formula 1 circuit due to lack of funds.This also means that Takuma Sato and Anthony Davidson are now carless and also jobless(doesn’t matter). Although they didn’t do anything great in these years,Takuma Sato is always a good source of entertainment with his aggressive driving.The team was running on borrowed funds since the end of the 2007 season.

As a result of Super Aguri’s withdrawl,there will be just 10 teams and 20 cars on the grid for Sunday’s Bahrain Grand Prix.

F1 Season 2008

The 2008 F1 season starts tomorrow,15th March 2008.Its needless to say that the first race is the Australian Grand Prix.Qualifying starts at 8:27 am IST.The race starts at 10:00 am IST.This is the last Australian GP morning race.Next season onwards,Australian GP will be held in the evening to make it convenient for Europeans.

This season will have a total of 18 races and will be very exciting.To bridge the gap between the last season and this one,I’ve decided to give you a list of teams(constructors) along with the drivers.Quite a few drivers have moved so its time to get used to this new list.

1.Ferrari-No changes in the scarlet horse team with the usual drivers Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa.I’ll be supporting Ferrari throughout the season.Not to forget,they’ll have Michael Schumacher behind the pit wall. 😀

2.McLaren-Lewis Hamilton had a great last season and will continue with McLaren.Alonso has moved to Renault after having a bad season as a number 2 driver of the team.This gives Heikki Kovalainen a seat in the silver car.

3.Force India-India finally have a team in the F1 circuit.Vijay Mallya’s Force India will be making its debut this weekend.I expect a few championship points from the team and ask my fellow Indians to keep a limit to their expectations.Adrian Sutil and Giancarlo Fisichella will be the two drivers driving Force India.My prediction is that Force India will get better as the season progresses as they have no lack of funds.

4.Renault-If you ask me what I expect from Renault,I’ll say nothing.Even though Fernando Alonso has returned,I don’t think Renault will not be good enough.Alonso’s teammate will be newcomer Nelson Piquet.

5.Honda-They might improve their performance as they have Ross Brawn as their team boss.Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button will be desperate to perform after a bad season last year.

6.Red Bull-David Coulthard and Mark Webber will be driving for the Red Bull team.

7.Toro Rosso-Two Sebastians will be driving the STR cars namely Sebastian Vettel and newcomer Sebastian Bourdais.

8.Williams-Nico Rosberg will try to perform like his father in the Williams car like last year.He has a new teammate,Kazuki Nakajima.

9.BMW Sauber-Nick Heidfeld and Robert Kubica seem to be happy with BMW Sauber and with each other.Thus they haven’t signed any new contracts.

10.Toyota-Jarno Trulli and Timo Glock will be driving for Toyota this season.

11.Super Aguri-Last in my list and perhaps last in the constructors championship too.This is a perfect description of the Super Aguri team.Anthony Davidson and Takuma Sato will continue to drive for Super Aguri.My advice to them-Keep Looking for new contracts.

And The Champ Is………Kimi

I know it sounds bizarre and a bit difficult to believe but Kimi Raikkonen is the 2007 Formula 1 world champion.He won the Brazilian Grand Prix and got some support from Hamilton and Massa to be the world champion.

The race is extremely interesting and here’s how the drivers ended the season in terms of championship points-

1.Kimi Raikkonen-110 points
2.Lewis Hamilton-109 points
3.Fernando Alonso-109 points

It was really close.The situation looked like it was scripted in Raikkonen’s favor.Felipe Massa did a great job to hold on to 2nd position.I had mentioned in an earlier post that Hamilton had a terrible start but he did well to finish 6th.The rookie has had a great season and has a great future ahead.

Obviously Ferrari are the constructors champions with 204 points and will the the benefits for the next season.This means that they will be getting their cars numbered as 1 and 2.They also will have the privilege of having their pit garage closest to the entry or the exit of the pitlane.

For now,Kimi Raikkonen is the world champion but there are some matters with the BMW cars which need to be looked into.In case the drivers are disqualified,Lewis Hamilton will be the world champion and it will be really sad for Kimi.

Here are the last lap of the race-

PS-Kimi Raikkonen is now officially the world champion.FIA has rejected McLaren plea against the decision to spare the cars blamed for fuel inconsistency.

Canonical URL by SEO No Duplicate WordPress Plugin